World Snail Racing Championships






Stop Press - 2015 Champion!

The 2015 championships were held on 18th July 2015 and this year's winner is a snail called George, owned by 31-year-old Dale Thorne, from nearby Gayton. George covered the 13 inch course in 2 mins 45 secs. Dale said: "I am thrilled but slightly embarrassed. This is usually won by a child. I think George won because he was fed on good local lettuce."

2015 Snail Racing Champion

Dale Thorne with his winning snail George. Photo: Tony Scase News Service Ltd

George the snail winning the 2015 championship. Photo: Tony Scase News Service Ltd

The start - and they are off with crowds cheering. Photo: Tony Scase News Service Ltd

Some snails were elaborately decorated but George the snail took an early lead. Photos: Tony Scase News Service Ltd

The next Championships will be held on 16 July 2016 on the cricket field at Congham, Norfolk, UK (nearest postcode PE32 1AH).

Press release 1

Press release 2

Archive of 2014 results

Archive of 2013 results

Archive of 2012 results

Archive of 2011 results

Archive of 2010 results

Archive of 2009 results

Archive of 2008 results

For more information contact:

Copyright 1999-2015 World Snail Racing. All Rights Reserved.